top of page

About Us


The Jefferson Police Department is located in the City of Jefferson, Georgia. Jefferson, Georgia is the county seat of Jackson County in Northeast Georgia and is named after President Thomas Jefferson. The city was formed in 1806 and the Jefferson Police Department’s coverage area is about 24 square miles. The population of the coverage area is over 15,000 with several thousand more folks traveling into and through the city each day for work.  The Chief of Police is Chief Joseph W. Wirthman, and he was appointed on September 5, 2006. He leads an agency of 30 sworn and 2 non-sworn personnel who are responsible for the law enforcement function in the city.


The agency is commanded by the Chief of Police, followed by an Assistant Chief. The agency has four patrol shifts, a Criminal Investigations Division and School Resource Officers.  We also have a Training Coordinator, State Certification Manager and Probation Officer.  The agency also boasts a K-9 unit, a Neighborhood Watch Program, and a Park and Walk Program.


The Jefferson Police Department has served the City of Jefferson for over 100 years. The population of the city doubled in a ten-year period recently which has caused an increase in the number of calls dispatched on a daily basis to the agency. The agency’s calls and service contacts for the last 7 years are as follows:  2017 = 21,300 / 2018 = 24,400 / 2019 = 21,200 / 2020 = 23,800 / 2021 = 28,550 / 2022 = 24,250 / 2023 = 33,475. 

bottom of page